Alcohol Offenses in New Hampshire

Possessionofalcohol

     An alcohol offense is a criminal act involving alcohol that is punishable by law. These criminal acts can involve illegal possession, transportation, or consumption. There are a number of different alcohol offenses that are punishable by law in the state of New Hampshire. Here are some of the most common alcohol offenses that lawyers have encountered.

Transportation of Alcohol by a Minor

     Persons under the age of 21 who transport alcohol in any part of a vehicle can be charged with transportation of alcohol by a minor. This offense is a violation and persons that are found guilty may be forced to pay a fine and/or have their license suspended for a set period of time.

Attempt to Purchase Alcohol

     Persons under the age of 21 are forbidden by law to purchase alcohol from any source. Any person under the age of 21 who attempts to purchase alcohol can be charged with a violation. Persons who are convicted may have their license suspended for a set period of time.

Misrepresenting Age to Purchase Alcohol

      Persons under the age of 21 who attempt to misrepresent their age for the purpose of purchasing alcohol can be charged with a violation. Any establishment engaging in the sale of alcohol is required by law to check the ID of any person attempting to purchase alcohol. Use of a fake ID for the purpose of purchasing alcohol is a misdemeanor. Persons who are convicted will be forced to pay a mandatory $500 fine for the first offense and $1000 for any subsequent offense.

Minor in Possession of Alcohol

     Persons under the age of 21 by law are forbidden to have alcohol in their possession. Persons under 21 who are found to be in possession of alcohol will be arrested and charged with a violation. Conviction may result in a minimum $300 fine for the first offense and a minimum fine of $600 for any additional offense.

We Can Help

     While conviction for most of the offenses listed above will not result in any jail time, the potential for loss of license and expensive fines imposed by the court are cause enough to retain an attorney. If you have been arrested for an alcohol offense, our lawyers can defend you at your hearing and work to get you the lowest sentence possible.

      In some cases, the State may be willing to negotiate a plea that could result in a lesser penalty. While we cannot promise any particular outcome, if you retain our services you can rest assured that you will have a knowledgeable and experienced attorney fighting passionately on your behalf.

Contact Us

     If you have been charged with an alcohol offense, contact a lawyer to disuses your case. Call the Law Office of Chadwick-Fricano-Weber at (603) 880-6100 to schedule an initial consultation.

Menu