Prostitution

Merrimack-criminal-defense-lawyer2

In New Hampshire prostitution, is an illegal. According to NH RSA 645:2, a person is guilty of prostitution if he or she:

  1. “Solicits, agrees to perform, or engages in sexual conduct” in return for payment;
  2. Compels or forces another person to engage in sexual conduct for payment;
  3. Transports a person for the purpose of engaging in sexual conduct for payment;
  4. Is supported financially by proceeds received from another person's sexual solicitation;
  5. Knowingly permits a place or residence in his or her possession to be used to facilitate prostitution; or
  6. Agrees to pay another person for sexual acts even if the sexual acts are never committed.

Penalties for Prostitution

     In the state of New Hampshire, prostitution is usually classified as a misdemeanor. Our attorneys will explain, persons convicted of misdemeanor prostitution can serve up to a year in jail and/or be faced to pay up to $2000 in fines.

     Prostitution is classified as a class B felony in cases where the charge involves a person under the age of 18 or if the person is accused of using threats or force to intimidate another person to engage in the act of prostitution. The persons who are most commonly charged with felony prostitution are pimps and “johns”. However, a person who pays to receive sexual favors from a minor can also be charged with felony prostitution. Persons who are convicted of felony prostitution could serve anywhere from 3 ½ to 7 years in jail and/or be forced to pay up to $4000 in fines.

Special Concerns for Prostitution Cases

     While the potential penalties for conviction of prostitution are severe enough, a prostitution conviction can also pose some additional challenges for criminal defendants. Society in general frowns upon the act of prostitution and having the offense on your criminal record can carry a negative stigma that is difficult to overcome. You may no longer be able to work certain jobs that you would be otherwise qualified for.

    Persons who are charged with prostitution acts involving a minor will be forced to register as a sex offender if convicted. Sex offender registration can have an effect on where you can live, work, and what types of jobs you can have. For example, sex offenders cannot work in jobs involving children, cannot live in areas heavily populated by children, and will be forced to keep their registration current.

If you are charged with prostitution, it is absolutely vital that you contact a criminal defense attorney. Once you retain legal assistance, your lawyer will advise you as to how to best proceed with your case.

Contact a Merrimack Criminal Defense Lawyer

     If you have been charged with prostitution, contact the Law Office of Chadwick-Fricano-Weber. We have experience defending New Hampshire criminal defendants in a variety of cases including those involving prostitution. You can rest assured that we will provide you with the competent, skillful representation that you need and deserve. Call our office at (603) 880-6100 to schedule an initial consultation.

Menu