Reckless driving is a major motor vehicle offense that is taken very seriously in New Hampshire. The laws were designed to protect the safety of the public and severely punish reckless drivers. If you choose to handle the case without legal representation, you could unknowingly harm your case. An experienced lawyer understands how the criminal justice system works and will be able to use that knowledge to help you.
A Criminal Defense Lawyer on Reckless Driving Statute
According to New Hampshire RSA 265:79, it is unlawful to operate the vehicle in a reckless manner that endangers the lives and safety of the public. A police officer uses discretion to determine if you were driving recklessly. If charges are pressed against you, the prosecutor must prove that you failed to use reasonable care and your conduct created a substantial and unjustifiable risk. One of the most common example of reckless driving is a case of speeding in excess of one hundred miles per hour.
For a first offense, a judge may order a minimum $500 fine and suspend your license for 60 days. The punishments are more severe for repeat offenders. If a second reckless driving offense is committed, it could lead to a higher fine of at least $750 and a maximum one-year license suspension. Being convicted will result in 6 demerit points being added to your driving record. If you are guilty of other motor vehicle infractions, the reckless driving conviction could potentially result in you being certified as a habitual offender.
A Criminal Defense Attorney Discusses Fighting Reckless Driving Charges
A criminal defense attorney carefully examines the events that led up to the arrest. By performing a full investigation, he can gather evidence that is beneficial for your case. Successfully challenging the prosecutor's arguments could potentially result in getting the charges reduced or having the case dismissed. Sometimes an attorney will attempt to negotiate a settlement if it is more favorable for the client than proceeding with a trial.
Call a Criminal Defense Attorney for Legal Help
If you have been charged with reckless driving, you should speak with a criminal defense attorney. The Law Office of Chadwick-Fricano-Weber uses its knowledge and resources to help people with challenging cases. Schedule a consultation by calling (603) 880-6100. We will address your concerns and discuss your legal options during the consultation.