Classification of Offenses
Many people wonder when they are charged with an offense, "What can happen to me if I am convicted?" The answer to that question depends on the classification of offense the State has decided to bring forward.
As you can imagine, a violation level offense is not a crime. A violation encapsulates most motor vehicle offenses such as speeding, reckless driving, stop sign violations etc. The maximum punishment for a violation level offense is a $1000.00 dollar fine. Furthermore, depending on the nature of the violation, the court has the authority to suspend or revoke your privilege to drive for up to thirty days.
Class B Misdemeanor
A class B misdemeanor is considered a criminal offense. The most common example of a class B misdemeanor is first a offense DWI. The maximum penalty for a class B misdemeanor is a $1200.00 dollar fine. However, different statutes apply unique collateral penalties. For example, in the DWI first offense context, in addition to a fine, your privilege to drive a motor vehicle can be suspended for up to 2 years. Importantly, there is no risk of incarceration associated with a class B misdemeanor conviction.
Class A Misdemeanor
A class A misdemeanor is considered a criminal offense. There are a variety of crimes that are labelled as a class A misdemeanor. The maximum punishment associated with a class A misdemeanor is 12 months in the house of corrections and up to a $2000.00 dollar fine. If you have been charged with a class A misdemeanor or any other felony, you have a constitutional right to be represented by an attorney.
Felonies are separated into class B felonies and class A felonies. The maximum punishment for a class B felony is 3 1/2-7 years in the New Hampshire State Prison and up to a $4000.00 dollar fine. The maximum punishment for a class A felony is 7 1/2-15 years in the New Hampshire State Prison and up to a $4000.00 dollar fine. Only the most serious crimes such as rape, robbery and murder and classified as felonies
Some crimes are labelled as "special felonies." Many examples of special felonies can be found in the Acts Prohibited Section of the Controlled Drug Act. Depending on the nature and quantity of the controlled drug you are accused of possessing and/or selling, the maximum penalties can range between 10-20 years in the New Hampshire State Prison and up to a $250,000.00 fine to 25 years to life in the New Hampshire State Prison and up to a $500,000 dollar fine.
If you have been charged with an offense, please contact the Law Office of Chadwick-Fricano-Weber at 603-880-6100. As part of our legal services, we will review the penalty range for any charges which have been lodged against you.