Drinking and driving is extremely dangerous. Many people have been killed or otherwise harmed by drunk drivers. In an effort to crack down on dangerous drunk drivers, the New Hampshire legislature has created strict laws imposing severe penalties on those who choose to drink and drive.
What Is Felony DWI?
In New Hampshire, DWI is classified as a felony if a person accused of driving while intoxicated causes a motor vehicle accident resulting in serious bodily injury or death to another person. If you are charged with felony DWI, it is vital that you hire an attorney to represent you.
Penalties if Convicted
Persons convicted of felony DWI may face a number of penalties including:
- Imprisonment for up to 7 years;
- A fine of at least $1,000;
- Requirement to have an Interlock Device System installed in your vehicle;
- Suspension of your driver's license;
- Mandatory 35 day jail sentence;
- Referral to a court ordered Impaired Driver Care Management Program (IDCMP).
Because felony DWI is a class B felony, conviction will also be made part of your criminal record. This can have a substantial effect on your ability to obtain employment in the future.
We Can Help
If you have been charged with felony DWI, you need an experienced DWI attorney fighting on your side. We have represented clients in a number of felony DWI cases and understand the laws that can be used against you. Depending on the circumstances of your case, we may be able to arrange a plea for you that would result in conviction for a lesser offense and a lower penalty.
If we are unable to negotiate a plea, then you can be confident that you will have a skilled litigator on your side ready and able to carry your case to trial. The individual facts surrounding your case will determine how we will be able to assist you. Call our office today to discuss your options.
Call the Law Office of Chadwick-Fricano-Weber at (603) 880-6100 to schedule a no-obligation initial consultation.