In the state of New Hampshire, a person can be found guilty of DUI if that person attempts to drive or operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, prescription drugs, over the counter medication, or any other controlled substance. The penalties for conviction will vary based on whether it is the driver's first, second, or third offense.
Persons who are charged with DWI for the first time may be scared and intimidated by the process. They will likely not know what to do or how to defend themselves against the charge.
If You Are Arrested for DWI
If you are arrested for DWI, contact us at our office immediately. We will be able to offer you advice tailored to your specific situation.
Thinking About Defending Yourself?
If you are charged with DWI, you have the right to defend yourself. While you can attempt to defend yourself, doing so is not recommended. You need an experienced DWI lawyer to represent you in your legal proceeding. He will have a clear understanding of the law and will be able to tailor a defense suited to the challenges presented in your case.
Our Attorneys Will Explain The Penalties if You Are Convicted
In New Hampshire, first offense DWI is a Class B Misdemeanor. Persons who are convicted of a first offense DWI may face a number of penalties including:
- A fine of at least $500;
- Driver's license suspension for a period ranging from 9 months to 2 years;
- Required SR-22 insurance;
- Required completion of a drug and alcohol screening;
- Required completion of a Driver Education Program; and
- Referral for an evaluation with a Driver Care Management Program.
- Referral for installation of an interlock device.
If you have been charged with a DWI, contact our office to discuss your case with us. Call the Law Office of Chadwick-Fricano-Weber at (603) 880-6100 to schedule a no-obligation initial consultation.